The Seven Chakras

1. Muladhara (base chakra)

  • Symbol: The 4-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: Coccyx (base of the spine)
  • Colour: Red
  • Body system: Elimination, lymph system
  • Emotion: Fear
  • Endocrine gland: Ovaries and testes
  • Stone: Garnet
  • Mantra:Lam
  • Asana: Upavista Konasana (seated wide-angle pose)

Affirmation: “I am connected to mother earth and feel secure and protected.”

2. Svadhistana (sacralchakra)

  • Symbol: The 6-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: Sacrum
  • Colour: Orange
  • Body system: Digestive, reproductive system
  • Emotion: Passion
  • Endocrine gland: Adrenals
  • Stone: Ruby
  • Mantra:Vam
  • Asana: Salabhasana (Locust pose)

Affirmation: “I am worthy of love and physical pleasures. Life offers me everything I need for that journey”.

3. Manipura (solar plexuschakra)

  • Symbol: The 10-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: lumbar region of spine opposite navel
  • Colour: yellow
  • Body system: intestines, liver
  • Emotion: anger
  • Endocrine gland: pancreas
  • Stone: topaz
  • Mantra:Ram
  • Asana: Ardha matsyendrasana (spinal twist)

Affirmation: “I know I am becoming the best person I can be.”

4. Anahata chakra (heart chakra)

  • Symbol: The 12-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: Centre of chest
  • Colour: green
  • Body system: Heart and lungs
  • Emotion: Love, compassion
  • Endocrine gland: thymus
  • Stone: emerald
  • Mantra: Yam
  • Asana: Bhujangasana (Cobra pose)

Affirmation: “I love myself for who I am and the potential within me.”

5. Vishuddha chakra (throatchakra)

  • Symbol: The 16-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: Base of throat
  • Colour: blue
  • Body system: throat
  • Quality: introspection
  • Endocrine gland: thyroid
  • Stone: turquoise
  • Mantra:Ham
  • Asana: Sarvangasana (shoulder stand)

Affirmation: “My voice, thoughts and speech are filled with conviction.”

6. Ajna chakra (third eye)

  • Symbol: The 2-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: Eyebrow centre
  • Colour: indigo
  • Body system: Forehead
  • Quality: Focus
  • Endocrine gland: pituary
  • Stone: amethyst
  • Mantra:Om
  • Asana: Padmasana (lotus pose) – concentrate on eyebrow centre

Affirmation: “The answers to all my questions lie within me.”

7. Sahasrara chakra (crownchakra)

  • Symbol: The 1000-petaled lotus flower
  • Location: Crown of head
  • Colour: Violet
  • Body system: Brain
  • Quality: Bliss, peace
  • Endocrine gland: pineal
  • Stone: gold topaz, diamond
  • Mantra: Silence
  • Asana: Shirshasana (headstand)

Affirmation: “I release all limited thoughts and lift myself up to higher levels of awareness”.